top of page

Publish or Die Trying...


Pronoun helps writers succeed

For the last few years I have been writing most days. Poetry, short stories, novels and mindless rambling manifestos that have no place outside of own my mind. Fortunately, this amazing country saw to it that I was born with unalienable rights, while living my life with the liberty ensured me and in the pursuit of my own happiness I have the right to Free Speech and as such I will continue to blaspheme, opine and sound off accordingly.

While it is my ultimate intention to have my work recognized by the people I respect and admire, I am admittedly equally interested in turning this objective "talent" into a career. I have been waiting to complete a few more pieces before I published my anthology but as I have just launched this site as well as promoting my work when and where ever I can I feel it is time to put pen to paper and just go to print already. Of course that takes financial ability to assume the risk of loss that comes with self distribution. Therein lies my problem; yes?

Fates do occasionally align for us now and again don't they? I had stumbled across a promotional website that helps independent authors to finish, edit, illustrate, cover and finally publish, for free; at least the e-book version is free, premium service subscriptions are available but the free version is excellent for early financially restrained authors. Or even those with a professional start already.

The best part is that it is true professionals that have a desire to see independent authors succeed. www.Pronoun.com has allowed me to actually consider being able to publish on my own, at least online. With tools that support editing, crafting and shaping my final product, #Pronoun also lets me view metadata with tracker tools in their free to use author's toolbox.

By tracking meta data writers are able to see where, when, and for how much their works are selling. Having this info at an authors disposal can truly help motivate one to be more innovative and constructive, encouraging one to become more involved in the marketing and distribution of their book. All those crunch-able numbers are great for determining when to invest in private publishing or seek out an agent.

I should maybe mention again Pronoun obviously is not affiliated with Jacob Marley Press in any way, shape, or form and I have received no compensation from Pronoun. I do believe the site to be a customer driven authentically built-from-the-ground-up program that works to support independent authors and assist them when they need help with the upper rungs of the ladder to the commercial market.

With access to every major bookseller online and free initial distribution of your book, Pronoun makes independent authorship a reality for anyone. I have been taking advantage of this service for several months now and as I approach the moment to release my first full length novel I feel a true rush of excitement because this is truly a step up from selling Kinko's bound books out of my car!

The point is, Pronoun is a great tool for independent authors and writers new and old, and definitely worth the time it takes to register.

Thanks for reading ~ Jacob Marley

bottom of page